Top 10 oldest football clubs in Africa and their achievements

Must Read

ABC News Ghana is an investigative media house that focuses on politics, sports and the economy. Our work is thoroughly researched, balanced and fair. Our vision is to become the most preferred indigenous news brand for men in West Africa.

Football in Africa, undoubtedly is the most popular sport. Football is loved by most Africans since its introduction on the continent. Over the years, many of the football clubs have build a huge support base on the continent. In some cases, the successes of the teams are the attraction for the club supporters.

ABC News Ghana in this piece, digs back in time to profile Africa’s top 10 oldest football clubs and their achievements.

Al Ahly Sporting Club 

Al Ahly Sporting Club was founded on 24 April 1907, by a gathering of Cairo’s Student Unions. The football club plays in the Egyptian Premier League, the top tier in the Egyptian football league system.

Club’s achievement

Al Ahly has a record of 41 national league titles( Egyptian Premier League), which is an Egyptian professional league for Egyptian football clubs and represents the top flight of Egyptian football.

The club has won 36 Egyptian Cups, also known as the Egypt FA Cup which was formerly called  formerly King Farouk Cup. Al Ahly last won the Egyptian Cup in the 2017/2018, when they defeated Smouha 5-4 on penalties after the game ended 1-1.

The Egyptian Super Cup title has been won 10 times by the Nadi El Qarn (Club of the Century), their last win in 2016 after pinning Al Masry by 1-0.

In international competitions, the Egyptian based club has a record of 8 CAF Champions League making them the most successful club in the competition’s history. The club has won only one CAF Confederation Cup. In addition to these, they have won 6 CAF Super Cup titles ( double legged match between winners of the CAF Champions League and CAF Confederation Cup) and 4 African Cup Winner’s Cup. The Club won a bronze medal in the 2006 FIFA Club World Cup. Al Ahly is the second most successful club in the world in terms of number of international titles (20) behind Real Madrid (26).

Zamalek SC

Zamalek Sporting Club was founded on 5 January 1911 as Qasr El Nile Club and was first headed by Belgian lawyer George Marzbach. The name was changed to El Mokhtalat Club two years later and was changed again in 1941 to King Farouk Club, named after King Farouk of Egypt. Following the 1952 Egyptian revolution, the club name was once again changed to its current name Zamalek Sporting Club.

Club’s achievements

Zamalek has won five CAF Champions League titles. They were also considered the most titled club in Africa in the 20th century with one CAF Confederation Cup title, three CAF Super Cup titles and one African Cup Winners’ Cup title.

Hearts of Oak

The club was founded on 11 November 1911. Hearts of Oak is a professional sports club based in Ghana’s capital city, Accra. The club competes in the Ghana Premier League, the premier division on the Ghanaian football pyramid. Hearts of Oak won their first major match in 1922 when Sir Gordon Guggisberg, governor of the Gold Coast, founded the Accra Football League.

Club’s achievements

Hearts has won the Premier League twenty times, the FA cup a record ten times, the President’s Cup twice, and the CAF Champions League and the CAF Confederations Cup once.

Al-Ittihad Alexandria

Al-Ittihad Alexandria Club team was founded in 1914 in Alexandria. Al-Ittihad Alexandria Club known as Al-Ittihad, is an Egyptian football club that plays in the Egyptian Premier League. The club is the first club that rushed to endorse the idea of founding the Egyptian Football Association in 1921 which contributed to increased popularity in Alexandria.

Club’s achievements

Al-Ittihad Alexandria Club has won the Egypt FA Cup 6 times, 1926, 1936, 1948, 1963, 1973 and 1976. The club lifted the Sultan Hussein Cup title was the first local Egyptian football competition.

Additionally, Al-Ittihad set a record of winning 27 Alexandria Zone League (from 1927- 1953) which is the oldest Egyptian football tournament.

Espérance Sportive de Tunis

The club was founded in Bab Souika which is one of the historic gates of the capital of Tunisia, Tunis on January 15, 1919. The club was named Taraji in Arabic after the name of the coffeehouse where the founders used to often meet each other.

Club’s achievements

ES Tunis has 29 Tunisian League wins, 15 Tunisian Cups, and 4 Tunisian Super Cups. At a continental level, the club has 4 CAF Champions League titles.

Al Masry

Al Masry was founded in 1920 after the Egyptian Revolution of 1919, not only to assert the Egyptian national identity facing the foreign communities clubs in Port Said, but also to resist colonization in the sports field.The club plays their home matches in Port Said Stadium, with a capacity of 17, 988.

Club’s achievements

Al Masry has won 5 official titles and 17 local ones throughout its history. It is one of the five clubs with the most fans in Egypt.

Club de Desportos do Maxaquene

Clube de Desportos do Maxaquene, is a sports club based in Maputo, Mozambique. It was founded in 1920.  Maxaquene won its first post-independence title in football, the Taça de Moçambique, in 1978.

Club’s achievements

The club has won 5 of Campeonato Moçambicano de Futebol, which is the top division of Mozambican football-1984, 1985, 1986, 2003 and 2012.

Taça de Moçambique (9) -1978, 1982, 1986, 1987, 1994, 1996, 1998, 2001, 2010

District Championship of Lourenço Marques (9)- 1922, 1930, 1933, 1938, 1940, 1943, 1948, 1953, 1960

Taça de Honra de Maputo- 2006

Club Africain

Club Africain, is a Tunisian omnisport club founded in 1920 in the capital city, Tunis. Club Africain is best known for its Association Football team, which competes in the Tunisian Championship. Club Africain is not the most successful but the most popular football club in Tunisia.

Club’s achievements

Club Africain has won the Tunisian Premier League 13 times, their last in the 2014/2015 season. The club has also won 13 of the Tunisian FA Cup. Club Africain has won the Tunisian Super Cup title 3 times, 1968, 1970 and 1979 .

In international competitions, Club Africain has won one CAF Champions League title ( formerly, African Cup of Champions) in 1991 which was the 27th edition of the annual international club football competition held in the CAF region.

Desportivo de Maputo

Submit your stories or articles to [email protected] or Whatsapp them to +233 553620623

- Advertisement -


Latest News

Abort your presidential bid and take backstage as elder of NDC – Yaw Boateng Gyan to Mahama

Former National Organizer of the opposition National Democratic Congress (NDC), Yaw Boateng Gyan has registered his displeasure with the...

More Articles Like This

%d bloggers like this: