Parliament sets up 20-member bi-partisan committee to resolve 2022 budget stalemate

Must Read

The leadership of Parliament has set up a 20-member bi-partisan committee to resolve the impasse over the 2022 Budget.

This follows disagreements between the Majority and the Minority MPs over the status of the budget.

The fate of the Akufo-Addo led government’s 2022 Budget and Economic Policy still hangs in the balance after the Majority in Parliament overturned the Minority’s decision to reject it.

The NDC MPs last Friday voted to reject the policy document amid claims it will further impose hardships on the ordinary Ghanaian.

However that move was reversed by the NPP side prompting another motion by the Minority Leader praying the House to again take a vote on the budget.

I’m a deputy speaker, not the Speaker – JoeWise

Following an acrimonious debate that stretched for hours, the First Deputy Speaker, Joseph Osei-Owusu in his ruling explained that per the 1992 Constitution and the Standing Orders of the House, he together with the Second Deputy Speaker are Members of Parliament who only assist the Speaker of Parliament in the discharge of his duties when the need arises.

“I have not heard anything here today [Wednesday] which was not discussed yesterday [Tuesday]. All the arguments today were practically the arguments made yesterday [Tuesday]. There are a few matters which I wish to clarify that first, it must be clear that a Deputy Speaker is not a Speaker. Indeed, article 96(1) of the constitution says, and I quote there shall be two deputy speakers of Parliament who shall be elected from the Members of Parliament and to contrast that to Mr. Speaker is not a Member of Parliament.”

“I am a member of Parliament the Second Deputy Speaker is also an MP and our role is to assist the Speaker in managing the house. So any attempts to read and interpret the constitution to include the deputy speakers is a misreading,” he said as he threw out the motion filed by the Minority.

That led to chaotic scenes with some Minority MPs attemoting to snatch the Speaker’s Chair from JoeWise.

According to the leadership of the House, the recent developments do not augur well for the country’s parliamentary democracy and the need to build consensus hence the setting up of the 20-member Committee to oversee the speedy resolution of the impasse.

Below is the list of the 20-member bipartisan committee:

Majority Caucus

  • Dan Botwe( Okere)
  • KT Hammond (Adansi Asokwa)
  • Patrick Boamah( Okaikwei Central)
  • Patricia Appiagyei( Asokwa)
  • Lydia Alhassan( MP, Ayawaso West Wuogon)
  • Alexander Afenyo Markin( MP, Effutu)
  • Habid Iddrisu( Tolon)
  • Frank Annor Dompreh ( Nsawam Addoagyir)
  • Joe Ghartey (Essikado/ Ketan)

Minority Caucus

  • Muntaka Mubarak ( Asawase )
  • Rockson Nelson Dafiamekpor (South Dayi)
  • Sam George( Ningo Prampram)
  • James Agalga( Builsa North)
  • Kwabena Mintah Akando (Juaboso)
  • Enerst Norgbey(Ashaiman)
  • Richard Acheampong( Bia East)
  • Ahmed Ibrahim (Banda)
  • Comfort Doyoe-Ghansah (Ada)


SourceABC News

Submit your stories or articles to [email protected] or Whatsapp them to +233 553620623

- Advertisement -


Latest News

Government to hold E-levy town hall meeting today

The government will today, Thursday, January 27, 2022 hold a town hall meeting to discuss the controversial Electronic Transactions...

More Articles Like This

%d bloggers like this: